Advice for first-time lease?

lindsay_314

Jun 27, 2020
Tri-Cities, TN, USA
Hi all,

Next week I sign the half least papers for my first horse ever! His name is Brady and he is part Quarter Horse and part Tennessee Walking Horse, about 22 years old; basically your standard grouchy old man schoolmaster gelding. I started riding him in my lessons last year and he has stolen my heart like I never expected. This year my company announced a company-wide raise so leasing is now in the budget! This boy is still at my barn and will be used for other lessons, but he will be mine for 13 days a month :) I can't believe it's happening and I'm so excited!

Any advice for a first-time leaser?

Also, a pic of me and this silly boy:

tempImage1zbZZm.jpg

He sounds great for a first time lease, old and wise and will teach you tons šŸ˜
I wouldnā€™t worry about anything given heā€™s at your Riding School, as that means youā€™ll have plenty of support around should you get stuck with something. If itā€™s your first time riding without instruction you might find a book of ridden exercises helpful for inspiration in the arena, itā€™s funny how lost you can suddenly feel without someone telling you what to do.
Enjoy the journey and keep us updated, we like to hear how people get on šŸ˜

Reactions: carthorse
He has a lovely goofy face. How did you get him to stick his tongue out for the picture??

It sounds like a great set up for your first horse, you'll have all the support you need and he'll be assured of good care and stay in a familiar environment. Great! Keep us posted!

My old share was similar. You need to think about what you will need to do for yourself which previously was done for you. And ask for or pay for the necessary instruction. For me I needed to pick out her feet and tack her up.