A fall on my 1st lesson back!

Bow24

Sep 1, 2008
Romford
Hi Everyone,

At 24 I started riding for the first time last yr and took lessons for around 9 mths. Unfortunately due to work commitments I then had to take around 6 mths off. But finally I changed jobs and got my weekends back. So Saturday I took the plunge and returned to my RS and began with 1/2 hr of flat work and then 1/2 hr of jumping.

My flat work went pretty well, although a little rusty. Then 2/3rds of the way into my jumping lesson disaster struck. I went over a cross pole in canter and on the corner I somehow lost a stirrup and before I could do anything the horse went over the second jump, resulting in me going one way and the horse the other!

This was my first fall and after coming down with quite a thud, I knew I had to get myself up, dust myself off and get back on. This I did and then attempted the jump again, and with success this time :)

Although a little sore today, with quite a wack to my back I am determined to get back on next weekend and attempt those jumps again.
I just know I will spend the week worrying and stressing about it and then be so uptight before my lesson. I guess thats only natural after your first fall and I'm sure there will be many more! :eek:

good on you for getting back up again, this can happen to the best of us, maybe ask your RI to do some work without stirrups and maybe some small cross poles without stirrups when you are ready.

everybody falls off, and you got back on and jumped which is brilliant :D

a nice hot bath with some radox sorts you out after a tumble ;)

I'm awe that you jumped on your first lesson back! I've still not jumped yet!

I got bucked off on my second ride back in the saddle of a 17.2hh giant onto a rocky bridlepath, so I feel your pain!

well done on getting back on! Can't wait to hear how you get on next week!:D

i totally feel your pain