1st Lesson Aches

nicolamary

Aug 12, 2003
Cheshire
Visit site
Had my first lesson on Saturday for an hour and am now in agony and can barely hit the brake/clutch to drive my car. Is this because I'm new to it/unfit. Is this to be expected and will I be ok in time for my next lesson on Saturday. Somebody said I should of just done half an hour and I'm beginning to think they were right. :eek:

Well, I ride 5 or 6 times a week and have been riding for years and after my hack on Monday I'm aching!

Not that I'm trying to put you off :D but you can still ache when you've really working hard either in lessons or hacks it's just the pain will not be as intense next time!

Hope you enjoyed your lesson though and welcome to the world of riding!

aches

This goes beyond an ache and its worse in the groin area, getting lots of sniggers and funny glances as I waddle round my office!!! I've even had to take pain killers!

I was actually suprised but the instructor had me cantering, could this of been because I told him I had ridden but it was over 20 years ago?

Hope I'm ok for my next lesson on Saturday.

Thanks for the encouragement.

LOL, I love riding aches, HEHE only becuase we have such fun and the next day we like GRRRRR never again but we still go and do it!!!

I have to admit my riding muscles never ache anymore, but maybe if i rode more than a god hour or something like 1hr and 45 mins then I would probably get them!! dont worry, Do some stretches before!!!

Have fun!!!

Ouch

A few years ago I went for a 2hr hack after not riding for about 7 years and biy did I ache - I think I severely felt it for about a week! It does get easier I promise but as already said the aches can still come back though after a hard lesson!

Think of it as a pleasant reminder of what you have been up to!

Doing stretches after you get off the horse, like you're warming down from an aerobics session, will really help avoid that 'aargh, I've seized up' feeling the next day.