which teaching method do you rate and why?

sophie33

Aug 8, 2004
London
I am not trying to start any arguments here - just interested in what you all think. My share horse has gone on her annual holidays (a field in Essex for a month with her pal) and so I was thinking of doing some off horse studying and maybe having a lesson or two. Years ago I read Heather Moffett and Mary Wanless but I was such a beginner I am not sure they helped much. And then I decided that - as I'm too inclined to over think my riding anyway - I'd stop reading and concentrate on riding. Now however, I would like to try and become a bit less useless and improve my technique. I started reading Mary Wanless last night and remembered why I found her confusing last time. So please tell me who has helped you. I am an older novice who never rode as a child, I am inclined to be nervous and too tense (although I've definitely got a lot better).

Whatever method you and your horse gets on with.
There is no right way, just the way you both manage with.

I did go down the nh route, but ditched that with this one. I now have bog standard bhs lessons from a sympathetic instructor who can think outside the box. I get on with her, understand what I'm being taught, but more importantly know what I'm being taught. I see her sporadic, I know I don't want weekly lessons, nor does my horse :)

I cannot fathom Mary wanless, I have had lessons with Heather and Peter De Cosemo and they both teach the same things, or very similar anyway. It works well with the Icelandic Horses and it really improves their way of going.

Like you I devoured riding books and a fair bit went over my head to start with. The ones I have returned to are Sylvia Loch's Invisible Riding and The Classical Seat, Sally Swift's first book (can't remember the title sorry, but I know I haven't got the second one) and an old fashioned translation of a German book called Riding Logic by Willhelm Musseler.