What defines 'Natural' Horsemanship...?

Peaches

Jun 29, 2008
Hey, I'm new to entering this area of the site...

I'm posting about this because, while well aware of the varying trainers advocating 'natural horsemanship', their apporaches all differ slightly right? So what exactly defines 'natural'?

I've never followed any particular method, nor read up all too much on it either. I don't go out for a session of 'games' or 'groundwork' specifically. However I don't follow 'traditional' methods religiously either despite it being as I was brought up, because the horse I have came to me with lots of behavioural problems as 'traditionl hunting' lifestyle didn't suit him.

So at what point do you cross between natural and unnatural in the approach with your horse? (I know thats ironic is the results we crave from both are unnatural results from our horses but still).

I'm quite happy doing things as they work for us, and have no inclination to follow one method specifically at all as with a difficult horse I feel it's better to mix and match to find what suits him and me together...Just curious as to peoples opinion on this question, although no doubt it is one that has been asked many a time before sorry!

x

As long as it doesn't involve beating my horse.

Of course :eek: would never consider beating him!!

A poke with my finger in his neck or chest if he's pushy or a tap on the nose if he sticks it in my face too much is as close to beating as we get lol...

I think 'natural horsemanship' has kind of come to mean everything & nothing in a way. What it means for me personally....