Is it just me?

Nayumi1

May 10, 2017
Yorkshire
So I've been doing riding lessons weekly now for a couple of months now and loving every minute of it. The last time I did lessons I was only a kid and since then has been the odd hack ride, where no doubt i was doing everything wrong!

What I have found at lessons though is, I'll be riding a long trying to listen to the RI about what to correct etc, but there are so many things to think about! hands, shoulders, legs, correct diagonal, crop, those damn corners haha. The previous week I had managed to get my rising trot on the correct diagonal spot on, then this week I was thinking about my hands, trying to get my corners etc and I remember just looking down at the horses shoulder completely blank on which leg I rise with haha.

Is it just me that struggles to take it all in at once!

Ha ha, I've been having lessons since I got my pony 7 years ago and my Ri still says to me, "Blah blah blah, and blah blah... Jane, come in, Jane, have you run out of brain space?"

Reactions: Nayumi1
And I'd afraid it never changes either! There are always too many things to think about!!

I must admit I do love learning it all! I just find it highly amusing when I go completely blank! My RI will be shouting left rein and I'm pulling the right.....or doing something completely different!

You will get better at multi tasking and then it won't seem as daunting but horse riding and horse management in general is something that your always learning and improving with. In each lesson although you try to take on board everything your been fired at you think or one or two bits of advice that you really feel you can achieve and try and get that down to a fine art, honestly it will all come together in time:) x

Haha its also annoying when you tell your brain to do something and your body disobeys! Like when I get nervous i pull back with one rein a bit, and I get told off so I think of dont pull back dont pull back and my hand does it anyway!