I’ve finally started with riding lessons!

Pedro

... and Pimpao!
Oct 12, 2000
Visit site
First of all... Hi everyone!

The title says it all... I've loved horses since I can remember but riding has always been too expensive to be considered. Just last year, as I graduated from college, picked up my first paycheques and went to New Zealand for a month, did that nagging dream resurfaced.
I took the opportunity to take a 5 hour long trail ride, and what can I say – I was definitely hooked. The ride was my first riding experience and it went perfectly. I felt confident with the people and the horse (a real four legged angel), and I was very keen in learning and enjoying it. When I came back I had to settle down a bit, but this summer the (obvious!) idea struck me – why not take riding lessons? I could afford them now!
So, I bought the needed gear and looked around for a stable. I ended up finding one rather close to where I live, and I've just started.

The school is a smallish family business with the good and bad that comes with that. There are about 15 horses that look happy and well care for (to my inexperienced eye), two arenas (one covered) and a medium paddock. The only negative issue is rider safety – but that’s pretty much a national (Portuguese) issue :rolleyes:. I had to search just about everywhere to find a certified helmet. When I was resigned to buying one online, I stumbled on a store with a good ventilated schooling helmet which I’m now the proud owner of. Everyone I’ve seen, without exception, was using £10-coconout-husk-apparell-only type helmets (ironically helmets are compulsive for lessons). I have yet to talk to anyone who knows anything about helmet certification (including the storeowner I bought my helmet from)!