Help with working hunter class required...

Mary Poppins

Oct 10, 2004
Visit site
I am doing my first working hunter class on Sunday (have just decided to enter now). I have never done this before, can anyone give me advice on:

1. What to wear? I am guessing shirt and tie, cream jods, black boots, short whip. I have a black show jacket and a tweedy navy jacket. Which one is more suitable?

2. What happens during the showing phase? I have been told I have to get off and take my saddle off?

3. How do I need to plait? I normally do a Spanish plait as his mane is very long, but do I need to plait traditionally?

Any help is much appreciated. xxx

The layout may depend slightly on the show, but from my former showing groom days it's likely to be that you jump first (over a course of rustic fences - there's likely to be a water tray, too). Depending on the level of the sjow, they may only call the clear rounds or top 4 faults in for the group and individual showing phase, but if it's a local show then they may call everyone back in anyway.

In the showing phase you'll go around as a group at w/t/c on both reins and you'll be asked to show an extended canter or gallop providing there is room. You'll get called into a line up by the judge to perform an individual show. You may be asked to remove saddle to show conformation - but my memory is hazy on this as the person I worked for at the time only had her WH a short time before she moved into cob showing.

Turnout wise definitely regular plaits over a running plait. Wear your tweed instead of your black/navy jacket - don't forget hairnet & gloves too. Do you have a showing cane you could use instead of a short whip?

Above all, good luck & have fun :)

Reactions: Mary Poppins
At the show I wrote up for the WHP class did not strip, the full size working hunters did. Everything else as @Pete's Mum says. Have you got a velvet hat?