Hello from NZ

3QuarterClyde

Mar 13, 2017
Hi All, I'm new to the forum but very happy to have stumbled across the site.

I started riding lessons at age 28years and have ridden on-off around having 3 children since. I owned my first horse for 3 years before finding him dead in the paddock just before moving him to our new lifestyle block. It was pretty devastating.

Horse number 2 was an OTTB eventer who was recommended by my instructor, but became a bit of a disaster and was realistically too much horse for my mostly happy hacking self. After sticking it out (actually "sticking" punctuated by many falls) for a year and essentially losing most of my riding confidence, I broke my shoulder after a bolting/uncontrolled racehorse moment down a gravel road and decided I needed to sell. He has gone to a lovely new home with an event rider who is taking him up the levels and kindly sends me updates. My lemon = her unicorn.

I went back to weekly lessons as soon as I could use my arm and have gradually regained my confidence, riding all different horses and learning to jump. It's been a long haul and like many adult riders i still doubt my ability all the time. I was lucky to be able to hack out on my neighbours older tb/arab who can be hot but completely honest. Galloping on the beach was probably one of the best things for my confidence after the bolt..knowing I could be balanced and in control at full tilt. Lol I now realise the trouble mostly happens when the energy is directed up and not forward!

In NZ we tend to paddock our horses 24/7 and the lease/Share system is much rarer. Most riders own their own horses and pay grazing, or own their own land. Barns or livery are almost foreign concepts where I live . There also seems to be a heap of crooked horse people so finding my unicorn was a bit of an ugly road..which is why I decided to buy an unbroken rising 4 year old clydie cross.