Electric Fencing - Batteries..?

TiggerthePony

Jan 8, 2008
Devon
I am a bit of a novice with electric fencing! Lily is moving back to the pony fields and I am fencing of a field for her so she is on restricted grazing. I have poles and tape but I was lost looking at the batteries! I don't really want one that will need new batteries every other day but not really sure what to go for - any recommendations and tips for connecting it all up very welcome!!! I can pay up to about £50 for the battery

Leisure batterys last the longest on elec fencing, but will need charging once every 2 weeks to make sure they keep enough omph going through the fence to act as a deterrent to the hossies, you'll need 2 batteries, to recharge without killing the life of a battery they want an 8hr slow recharge, never use the fast charge option on a battery charger unless you really have to , it kills them quickly.

do you know a friendly farmer? if so ask them for a couple of old tractor batteries use one and keep one charged ready to replace - mind you - i used one for a few months without it loosing power so no idea how long they last!
if not then try a breakers yard and ask for a coupld of old truck or car betteries :)

ETA - then go to local farm shop and buy a proper battery charger and energiser ;)

Tractor batteries can last months, had one on our pigs for 7months now & its still firing away at full charge.

We use the Leisure batteries, but also bought a couple of cheap solar chargers off ebay and it extends the time between charges dramatically, can usually run once all summer with the Solar trickle on without having to recharge it.

oh yes i'd forgotten we used them for piggies too :D our tractor battery power out-lasted our piggies :eek: but we only kept them 4 months - we still have the pigs - but in body, not in sole ;)

As do we, but in the freezer not the field.