Cross country fun!!

MrA

Feb 8, 2012
I've put a question mark because I've never tried it before but I've agreed to go on Sunday with my share horse!!

I just want us both to have a fun and confidence building time, not looking to jump anything big. Jumps start from 45cm so should be perfect for us.

I'm going with 3 other people and we are having an hours lesson and then a further hour to play on the course. Any tips or advice?

The only thing I have thought of so far is I'm putting a neckstrap/ martingale on so I can hold on if I feel wobbly.

Reactions: Jessey
It's definitely fun! Try not to over think it. Find out if you have to wear a body protector, hat with no peak and may have to be up to the new standard rules.

Defo go with the neck strap as well as martingale. Will the horse your riding need boots? Something to ask his owner? Not really that necessary over smaller jumps but I always boots up.

Mainly just enjoy it, I love going XC and went from jumping 85cm to 110 fences last summer. Look up, leg on and smile.

It's definitely fun! Try not to over think it. Find out if you have to wear a body protector, hat with no peak and may have to be up to the new standard rules.

Defo go with the neck strap as well as martingale. Will the horse your riding need boots? Something to ask his owner? Not really that necessary over smaller jumps but I always boots up.

Mainly just enjoy it, I love going XC and went from jumping 85cm to 110 fences last summer. Look up, leg on and smile.

Thank-you, I'm wearing a body protector but my hat has a fixed peak and can't do anything about that, I'm sure it'll be okay the height we are doing.

Yes I'm going to use over reach and brushing boots on him always do for jumping as he does knock his legs a little. I shall repeat the look up, leg on and smile as we are going round :D

Shorten your stirrups by a hole or two.

And have fun.