Been pushed to the very limits of my confidence!

Mary Poppins

Oct 10, 2004
Visit site
I am sitting here with a glass of wine trying to decide if I have had a good lesson or a dreadful lesson tonight! I'm sorry that this is so long, but I need to write it down.

Since a bolting incident when I was 14, I have had terrible confidence issues riding in open spaces. In my whole lifetime I have only had 2 horses who I felt 100% happy riding in open fields. These were my old shire horse who I could hack anywhere, and my favourite cob at my RS who I have ridden in all hacks, cross country events etc. since I started riding at this school. In the last 10 years I have only ridden these two horses out of the school (with the exception of an old share horse who dumped me, and a ride out at Cumbrian Heavy Horses).

Since I returned to riding last September my RS cob has been retired and I have been riding a variety of other horses. My confidence has increased and I can now ride a good variety of horses in the school, and have even found myself a share horse (who I ride in the school only because there is no hacking there at all).

Tonight I got to my lesson to find out I was riding a horse who I had only ridden once. He is a 16.2hh TB type and really not the type of horse I was imagine I would ride. When I rode him last time it was during a flatwork lesson and I was nervous of him. I found him forward going and forward thinking - not like my usual rides. We stuck to walk and trot and managed to do half a circle in canter which was a huge achievement for us.