Advice pls - first pair of riding boots, what to buy?

Dazzle

May 27, 2016
Devon
Hi, since I started riding I've been wearing jeans & wellies but I think it might be time to invest in some proper boots (and maybe jodhpurs). I have lots of problems with losing one of my stirrups when starting to canter and I think it's because my wellies are slightly too large for me and they slip about a lot. I'm hoping buying some proper riding boots will improve my riding (will it?), I'm just not sure what to buy. I'm lucky in that there is a second hand tack shop literally up the road from me and they have boots. I like the look of the long boots but are they just for shows? What's the difference between them and jodhpurs boots? Also, while I'm on the subject, what is the advantage to wearing jodhpurs over stretchy jeans?

Long or short boots is personal choice really. I tend to wear short boots with chaps or country boots as I am only small and 'proper' long riding boots tend to be too tall and dig in the back of my knee. Also because I do everything in the same boots I ride in ie walk to yard, muck out, turn out etc leather riding boots are too expensive and not very practical to do all that in.
I also find jods much comfier to ride in than jeans, but I suppose if you are wearing jeggings rather than jeans you should be ok if you don't want to fork out for jods just yet.

Long or short boots is personal choice really. I tend to wear short boots with chaps or country boots as I am only small and 'proper' long riding boots tend to be too tall and dig in the back of my knee. Also because I do everything in the same boots I ride in ie walk to yard, muck out, turn out etc leather riding boots are too expensive and not very practical to do all that in.
I also find jods much comfier to ride in than jeans, but I suppose if you are wearing jeggings rather than jeans you should be ok if you don't want to fork out for jods just yet.

Thank you, forgive my ignorance but are chaps?